Jelly Making!!

In my ever busy mind I wanted

http://stliving.com/?p=2183  (Small Town Living)

Make Your Own: Dandelion Jelly

Printed/posted April 7, 2010

Found in an article by: By Tina Wilson

The jelly has a delicate honey- type taste and is great on toast.

Dandelion Flower Jelly

2 cups fresh dandelion petals (it takes 4 cups of gathered flowers to create 2 cups of snipped petals/make sure that you do not include any green parts in with the snipped petals)

2 cups of boiling hot water

1/4 cup lemon juice

4 cups sugar

3 ozs. liquid pectin

Yellow food coloring

———-

Gather your flowers in the early morning. This is the time that flowers have their best scent and flavor. Look for flowers that are fully opened. After you have gathered 4 cups of fresh flowers snip the petals from the flowers with kitchen scissors, avoiding the green parts which can make the jelly taste a bit bitter. **my add: pinch off the dandelion heads with your thumb and forefinger when picking. Also, rinse the dandelion heads in a colander before adding them to the boiling water.”

Pour the hot boiling water over the flower petals and allow them to steep for an hour or up to 24 hours. Strain the mixture through a fine screened sieve.

Have your canning jars and lids sterilized and ready for use.

Stir together the lemon juice, sugar, and flower petal juice into a large pot. Bring to a rolling boil. Add liquid pectin and again return to a boil. Boil for 2 minutes. Skim off any foam that occurs. Add 3-4 drops yellow food coloring. Ladle into sterilized jars and process in boiling water bath for 15 minutes to seal jars.

Makes 4-5 half pints of jelly.

**NOTE:  I did not follow the recipe exactly, I added a green tea bag when the mixture was steeping. I did not let it sit the full 24 hours either, mine sat about 8 hours.  On another recipe that I found, it referred to the liquid mixture as an infusion, so in future recipes (such as the mint jelly that I just made) I vary my infusion using different teas or I add different ingredients to steep (i.e. fruit).**

Image

Mint Jelly

I used the above steps, but I altered the infusion mixture. A lot of the recipes that I found online use apple juice or a ton of fresh apples. I used what was in my cupboards–I grow my own mint, I had a few green apples, white tea bags, sugar, fresh lemon, green food coloring, and of course the liquid pectin (since I started making jelly it’s in my cupboards). I rinsed well, sliced, and then chopped up the two apples into small cubes. I kept the cores and put them into the pot as well. I rinsed well the mint, making certain to pull off any brown or sickly looking leaves and loose grass that might have clung when I picked them. I added the mint to the pot-leaves and stems.  I took one white tea bag and added it.  I steeped all three ingredients in the 2 cups (boiling) water for 6 hours, I would have liked longer, but I did not have the luxury of time.  After, I strained the mix and then sorted through it for the apple bits. Once I had separated the apple bits, I added them back into the infusion.

Now just follow the rest of the above instructions (which I went ahead and copied so you don’t have to scroll back up):

“Stir together the lemon juice, sugar, and flower petal juice into a large pot. Bring to a rolling boil. Add liquid pectin and again return to a boil. Boil for 2 minutes. Skim off any foam that occurs. Add 3-4 drops green food coloring. Ladle into sterilized jars and process in boiling water bath for 15 minutes to seal jars.”

I learned that the more batches you make, the more you understand what to do and what not to do so you enjoy the process.

Leave a Reply

